Student Research Center – EBSCOhost

Database Info
Student Research Center
Subscription database from EBSCOhost
Encyclopedia, Dictionary and Database
http://www.ebscohost.com/schools/student-research-center

Summary
Student Research Center is a database that was created by EBSCO with High School students specifically in mind. The database has been uniquely tuned to cater to the search needs and abilities of teenage students. The Student Research Center features a variety of tools including an online dictionary, and encyclopedia functionality that allows the user to browse by topic or search by keyword. The main page features a top searches box, as well as a “spotlight topic” to pique interest in new and different things, and users are able to limit searches to a few or all of the following Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video.

Reader’s Annotation
The Student Research Center is a research tool that was designed with high school students in mind. Its easy to use interface helps students find the information they need most for school projects or even just personal use!

Critical Evaluation
This subscription database can be used as a resource for high school students to give them an early start in familiarizing themselves with using online databases. I personally didn’t encounter online databases until college and they continued to be staples throughout my college and graduate education and for this reason I think it would be very beneficial for students to get acquainted with using these types of academic databases to search for journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, or various reports. I certainly wish I had had access to this kind of resource while I was in high school and would be eager to share it with students.

Reading Level/ Interest Age
13+

Why Included?
It was one of the databases that my local library has a subscription for and it is geared primarily for teens.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wso reviews
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 15:48:54

    Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Reply

    • librarialpursuits
      Mar 09, 2013 @ 17:41:09

      Thanks! I actually created this blog as the final project for a class in the master’s program I’m completing. I don’t know if I’ll be updating it further, but thanks for the nice words!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

